Skip to main content

Academic Calendar


Summer 2024

Date

Day

Event/Deadline

May 27 Monday Memorial Day Observed (NO CLASSES)
May 28 Monday Summer Session I and 11 week classes begin at GSE
June 4 Tuesday LAST DAY to add or drop a Summer I class without financial penalty (11:59PM ET via Path@Penn). Executive education students must drop courses before their first in-person classes of the term to receive a full refund; if separating from the program during the first in-person classes there will be a 50% refund; if separating after conclusion of the first in-person classes there will be no refund
June 11 Tuesday LAST DAY to Withdraw from a Summer Session I course. Full financial obligation will apply. 'W' will appear on transcript in place of grade 
June 12 Wednesday LAST DAY to add or drop an 11 week class without financial penalty (11:59PM ET via Path@Penn)
June 18 Tuesday Opening of August 2024 Graduation Application: https://srfs.upenn.edu/student-records/GradApp
June 19 Wednesday Juneteenth Observed (NO CLASSES)
June 26 Wednesday LAST DAY to withdraw from a Summer 11 Week course without receiving a ‘W’. Full financial obligation will apply. Drops after this date will result in a ‘W’ on the transcript.
June 27 Thursday LAST DAY to Withdraw from a Summer Session I. Full financial obligation will apply. ‘W’ will appear on transcript in place of grade.
DOCTORAL (PhD AND EdD) STUDENTS GRADUATING IN AUGUST 2024 are strongly advised to defend by June 28 to ensure that they can submit their dissertation for format review by July 12. The link to schedule your final defense is: https://www.gse.upenn.edu/student-forms/final-defense-sched. SRO requests that this form is submitted two weeks prior to defense date
July 3 Wednesday LAST DAY of Summer Session I at GSE. No classes Tuesday, July 2
July 4 Thursday Independence Day Observed (NO CLASSES)
July 8 Monday Summer Session II classes begin at GSE
July 8 Monday Summer Session I gradues due
July 12 Friday LAST DAY to add or drop a Summer II class without financial penalty (11:59PM ET via Path@Penn). Executive education students must drop courses before their first in-person classes of the term to receive a full refund; if separating from the program during the first in-person classes there will be a 50% refund; if separating after conclusion of the first in-person classes there will be no refund
July 12 Friday LAST DAY doctoral students may submit dissertation for review by the Associate Dean for August 2024 degree:
EdD students: Upload to Proquest
PhD students: Email dissertation to Faculty Affairs Office
July 18 Thursday LAST DAY to Withdraw from a Summer Session II. Full financial obligation will apply. ‘W’ will appear on transcript in place of grade.
July 19 Friday Closing of August 2024 Graduation Application: https://srfs.upenn.edu/student-records/GradApp
July 30 Tuesday LAST DAY to Withdraw from a 10/11 week course. Full financial obligation will apply. 'W' will appear on transcript in place of grade
August 2 Friday LAST DAY to Withdraw from a Summer Session II course. Full financial obligation will apply. 'W' will appear on transcript in place of grade
August 5 Monday LAST DAY Divisions may submit Master’s Examination/Thesis Portfolio results to the GSE Student Records Office for August 2024 degree
August 9 Friday LAST DAY of Summer Session II and 11-week classes at GSE
August 9 Friday Summer Session II grades due
Fall classes begin on Tuesday, August 27, 2024

Fall 2024

Students enrolled in executive formatted programs should contact their programs to confirm the dates of their program. 

Date

Day

Event/Deadline

August 21-26 Monday-Friday New Student Orientation
August 27 Tuesday Fall term classes begin
September 2 Monday Labor Day (NO CLASSES)
September 10 Tuesday LAST DAY to add or drop a class without financial penalty (11:59PM ET via Path@Penn). Executive education students must drop courses before their first in-person classes of the term to receive a full refund; if separating from the program during the first in-person classes there will be a 50% refund; if separating after conclusion of the first in-person classes there will be no refund
TBD TBD LAST DAY for new Summer and Fall incoming students to complete Penn Experience modules without incurring registration hold for Spring 2025
DOCTORAL (PH.D. and Ed.D.) STUDENTS GRADUATING IN DECEMBER 2024 are strongly advised to defend by October 21 to ensure that they can submit their dissertation for format review by November 4. The link to schedule your final defense is: https://www.gse.upenn.edu/student-forms/final-defense-sched. SRO requests that this form is submitted two weeks prior to defense date
October 7 Monday LAST DAY to drop a course (NO REFUND)
Courses dropped after this date require instructor approval and "W" will appear on transcript in place of grades
October 25 Friday LAST DAY to request course grade type change to audit. Requires instructor approval. GSE courses must be taken for a letter grade (standard grade mode) to satisfy GSE degree requirements. Please send request and approval to gse-sro@gse.upenn.edu
TBD TBD Advance Registration for Spring 2025 available via Path@Penn
October 30 Wednesday Opening of December 2024 Graduation Application: https://srfs.upenn.edu/student-records/GradApp
November 4 Monday LAST DAY to withdraw from a course (NO REFUND). Requires instructor approval. "W" will appear on transcript in place of grade
November 4 Monday LAST DAY doctoral students may submit dissertation for review by the Associate Dean for December 2024 degree:
EdD students: upload to Proquest
PhD students: Email dissertation to Faculty Affairs Office
November 25 Monday LAST DAY to apply for December 2024 degree: https://srfs.upenn.edu/student-records/GradApp
November TBD TBD Course selection for Spring 2025 re-opens. Log into Path@Penn after 8:00am to register for courses
November 25 Monday Monday classes meet; no alternative schedule on Tuesday and Wendesday for GSE Graduate Classes
November 26-December 1 Tuesday-Sunday Thanksgiving Break (NO GSE Graduate CLASSES)
December 2 Monday Classes resume
December 2 Monday LAST DAY to submit Signed Title Page to Faculty Affairs for December 2024 degree
December 2 Monday LAST DAY Divisions may submit Master’s Examination/Thesis Portfolio results to the GSE Student Records Office for December 2024 degree
December 9 Monday LAST DAY of Undergraduate Classes
December 16 Monday LAST DAY of Fall classes at GSE
December 19 Thursday LAST DAY May 2025 EdD and PhD graduates can hold final defense without having to pay Spring 2025 tuition (must receive a successful pass; tuition waiver does not apply for pending pass)
January 3 Friday Fall term grades due
Spring Classes begin on January 15, 2025 (Monday class schedule)

Spring 2024

January 15 Monday Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Observed (NO CLASSES)
January 18 Thursday SPRING TERM CLASSES BEGIN
January 31 Wednesday Last day to add or drop a class without financial penalty (11:59P.M. ET via Path@Penn). Executive education students must drop courses before their first in-person classes of the term to receive a full refund; if separating from the program during the first in-person classes there will be a 50% refund; if separating after conclusion of the first in-person classes there will be no refund
May 2024 Doctoral Graduates: DOCTORAL STUDENTS (PH.D. AND ED.D.) STUDENTS DEPOSITING THEIR DISSERTATION IN MAY 2024 are strongly advised to defend by March 29 in order to ensure that they can submit their dissertation for format review by April 5.

August 2024 Doctoral Graduates: DOCTORAL (PhD AND EdD) STUDENTS DEPOSITING THEIR DISSERTATION IN AUGUST 2024 are strongly advised to defend by June 28 to ensure that they can submit their dissertation for format review by July 14.

The link to schedule your final defense is: https://www.gse.upenn.edu/student-forms/final-defense-sched. SRO requests that this form is submitted two weeks prior to defense date

February 6 Tuesday Graduation Application open for May 2024 graduates: https://srfs.upenn.edu/student-records/GradApp
February 27 Tuesday LAST DAY to drop a course (NO REFUND)
March 2-10 Saturday-Sunday Spring Break (NO CLASSES)
March 11 Monday Classes resume
March 15 Friday Last day for Summer and Fall 2023 students to complete Penn Experience Modules without incurring a registration hold for Summer and Fall 2024
March 22 Friday LAST DAY to request course grade type change to audit. Requires instructor approval. GSE courses must be taken for a letter grade (standard grade mode) to satisfy GSE degree requirements. Please send request and approval to gse-sro@gse.upenn.edu 
March 25 Tuesday Registration period for Summer & Advance Registration for Fall 2024 available via Path@Penn
March 29-31 Friday LAST DAY for all May and August 2024 and December 2023 graduates to apply to RSVP for the May 2024 GSE commencement ceremony*
April 2 Tuesday LAST DAY to withdraw from a course. Full financial obligation will apply. 'W' will appear on transcript in place of grade.
April 5 Friday LAST DAY doctoral students may submit dissertation for review by the Associate Dean for May 2024 degree
EdD students: upload to Proquest
PhD students:
email dissertation to Faculty Affairs Office
April 8 Monday LAST DAY for Fall 2024 Advanced Registration
April 10 Wednesday  Graduation Application closes for May 2024 graduates
April 16 Tuesday Course selection for Fall 2024 re-opens. Log into Path@Penn after 7:00am to add/drop/swap courses
April 17 Wednesday Course selection for Fall 2024 re-opens at 7AM. Log into Path@Penn
May 1 Wednesday Undergraduate classes end
May 6 Monday LAST DAY to submit Signed Title Page to Faculty Affairs for May 2024 degree
May 6 Monday LAST DAY that divisions may submit Master's Comprehensive Examination/Thesis/Portfolio results to the GSE Student Records Office for May 2024 graduates 
May 8 Wednesday LAST DAY OF CLASSES AT GSE 
May 14 Tuesday Spring term ends for University
May 17 Friday Spring Term grades due
May 17 Friday Penn GSE Doctoral Hooding at 3:00PM
May 18 Saturday GSE Commencement ceremony
May 20 Monday University Commencement ceremony
May 24 Friday LAST DAY to hold an oral proposal hearing or final defense without having to pay summer tuition (Note: Both Ph.D and Ed.D students are billed at the Ed.D tuition rate in the Summer term. See tuition and fees page for rates: https://www.gse.upenn.edu/admissions_financial/tuition)
Summer I and 11-Week session begins on Tuesday, May 28, 2024
* ALL students who wish to march in the GSE Graduation Ceremony must RSVP to march online regardless of graduation date. For eligibility to march please consult the Graduation FAQ site: http://www.gse.upenn.edu/students/graduationfaqs

Contact the Penn GSE Student Records Office

GSE Student Records Office
3700 Walnut Street - 2nd Floor
gse-sro@gse.upenn.edu

Michael Fennell
GSE Registrar & Director of Student Records

Nicole Guerrero
Coordinator, Student Records Office